Author Topic: Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?  (Read 1488 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DogVomit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?
« on: July 16, 2008, 03:18:00 PM »
When you turn on the PS3 using a controller, which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?  I am concerned about the following situation:  I turn on the PS3 with a controller and that controller and is assigned to port #1.  The PS3IRX1 is already plugged in and is assigned to port #2 (I do not know if this is the case).  I want to have a second wireless controller, so when I turn that on, is that controller then assigned to port #3?  If this is the case, does that mean I would have to reassign that controller to #2 every time, as long as the PS3IRX1 is plugged in?  I'd like to hear peoples' experiences with this.  If this is indeed the case, is there any way to always have the PS3IRX1 always be assigned to a specific port by default, say, port #5?

Thanks for any input.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2008, 04:00:10 PM »
I'm pretty sure it will be assigned to Port #2.  I dont' think it matters though, as pretty much any multiplayer game I've ever played let you assign different controllers inside the game itself.  If you can't it is pretty simple to assign the controller to port 2 (hit the PS button and it's one of the options right there).
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline DogVomit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2008, 04:09:59 PM »
Yeah, I am familiar with the menu for reassigning controller ports, but I was hoping to avoid that unnecessary hassle.  It's still better than that Blu Wave remote, which is TRASH because it always grabs port #1.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2008, 04:17:51 PM »
I will check when I get home tonight.  I have the PS3IRX1 and 2 controllers.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline MMuecke

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 293
Re: Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2008, 05:15:55 PM »
When you turn on the PS3 using a controller, which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?  I am concerned about the following situation:  I turn on the PS3 with a controller and that controller and is assigned to port #1.  The PS3IRX1 is already plugged in and is assigned to port #2 (I do not know if this is the case).  I want to have a second wireless controller, so when I turn that on, is that controller then assigned to port #3?  If this is the case, does that mean I would have to reassign that controller to #2 every time, as long as the PS3IRX1 is plugged in?  I'd like to hear peoples' experiences with this.  If this is indeed the case, is there any way to always have the PS3IRX1 always be assigned to a specific port by default, say, port #5?

Thanks for any input.

Actually, it will always be assigned port #2 if you turn on the PS3 via a game controller. If you turn it on with the front panel or by inserting a disk, it will be assigned #1.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2008, 12:18:54 AM »
Yep it takes port #2.

If it really bugs you get the Pro unit.  It is always assigned to controller 7 just like the Sony bluetooth remote.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline DogVomit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2008, 12:57:45 AM »
Is there any reason why the PS3IRX1 doesn't take port #7?   That would be ideal.

Offline MMuecke

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 293
Re: Which controller port does the PS3IRX1 assign itself to?
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2008, 02:09:00 AM »
Sony sets the port number so that's just not possible. Sorry.