Author Topic: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1  (Read 3957 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« on: July 07, 2008, 04:26:27 PM »
Here is a shut down macro for use with the PS3IRX1.  You will have to contact Harmony support by phone/email to get it set up, but it works great.

DirectionLeft Duration in milliseconds 1000
DirectionUp Duration in milliseconds 500
X
Pause for 500 milliseconds
X
Direction Down
X

Thanks to mspace for figuring out how to allow for shutdown after download completion.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2009, 03:24:33 PM by Beerstalker »
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline roika

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2008, 02:52:42 AM »
Hi, cool...  It works :)

Anyone know if its possible to add the "PS button" command, ircode or whatever to the Harmony One, using the PS3IR-X1?


Roika

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2008, 09:51:17 AM »
No the PS button is not available on the PS3IR-X1.  In order to recognize the PS button over USB your USB vendor ID has to be recognized by Sony.  Mike tried to get his USB vendor ID number added, but Sony did not cooperate.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline MMuecke

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 293
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2008, 05:19:32 PM »
Sony has now added a shut down option on the main XMB screen that users can now use to turn off the PS3 with the PS3IR-X1.  It should go something like this:

9 left commands
2 up commands (add another up command for every user name on your PS3 over 1, so if you have 5 users you need 6 up commands)
X
X

This will only work if you exit out the the XMB from a game/movie/internet screen first.

You still will not be able to power on the PS3 on using your remote  :(, but this is a step in the right direction from Sony.

Yes, and if you just put extra up arrows it will work great even after you add another user.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2008, 04:48:28 PM »
Ok, I looked into this a bit more and it seems that Logitech will only allow a maximum of 6 commands in the power off sequence.  So you are not able to put in 9 left commands.  I believe that I have figured out a workaround for this.  You can get harmony to add a duration function to a specific button press.  So you should be able to use one left press with a duration of a few seconds to get the remote to move all the way to the left of the XMB.  Then you can add three up commands and two X commands.

I have not been able to test this out yet, I should be able to within the next couple days though, and I will update this thread with the results.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline blueglide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2008, 04:56:37 PM »
I have got this working on my friends 880 with the PS3IRX1. Go into the power settings and tell it you have a button for on and a button for off. Assign whatever you want to the on button as it won't work anyway. For the off button you want to tell it to take the following steps.

DirectionLeft Duration in milliseconds 1000
DirectionUp
DirectionUp
DirectionUp
X
X

Your inter key delay will have to be bumped up to 400ms for this to work though. Otherwise the two X commands are sent too close together and the second one will be ignored. This will also only work if you exit to the XMB before you hit the power off button on the remote. Finally it will only work if you have 2 or less users on your PS3.

I think that this would work better if I could get the following power off sequence programmed in. I haven't had a chance to contact Harmony support about this yet, but they will have to be the ones to do it as I can't set up button holds or pauses myself.

DirectionLeft Duration in milliseconds 1000
DirectionUp Duration in milliseconds 500
X
Pause for 500 milliseconds
X

How did you add the '1000 miliseconds duration' to your DirectionLeft step???  I have a Harmony 550 remote and it only allows 5 commands in a sequence. Thus, to accomplish my 'Power Off' I had to create two separate sequences to get in all the individual steps (4 DirectionLeft, 2 DirectionUp, and 2 X = 8 separate commands)  ???

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2008, 05:08:31 PM »
To tell you the truth I don't remember for sure.  I think whatever device I added to begin with had the duration option present already (I think I used the Sony PlayStation 3 device actually).  I then went into the power settings for that device and told it there was no power on button, but then I changed the power off sequence to what I had in my post.  I still haven't had a chance to try out my other idea yet, but I know that I will have to talk to a tech in order to get that set up.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline blueglide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2008, 10:23:43 AM »
OK ...here's where things are at for me (Harmony 550).  Obviously could not program in the 'millisecond duration' commands since Harmony software doesn't offer it....surprisingly, tech support said that was an option in original software release but was taken out when too many people messed things up and support had to fix things.  Called tech support and they programmed it in on their side for my account...(using Beerstalker's 5 step macro). Now the 'OFF' power state for the PS3 is completely controlled by my Harmony remote when using only the ACTIVITIES function.  Trying to power off in device mode is unsuccesful with the push of one button.  I did take Beerstalker's longer macro and break it into two pieces so I can power off in device mode that way.  Still not sure why the macro programmed in by tech support won't power off in device mode but so far I'm pretty happy that when going from activity to activity the PS3 powers off correctly.

By far the simplest soultion to all of this would be for Logitech to allow more steps in creating a sequence!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2008, 10:25:50 AM by blueglide »

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2008, 10:33:27 AM »
Just to clarify, you got them to add this macro:

DirectionLeft Duration in milliseconds 1000
DirectionUp Duration in milliseconds 500
X
Pause for 500 milliseconds
X

and it works?

If so that's great and I'll need to call and get my buddy's remote switched over to use that.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline blueglide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2008, 12:55:03 PM »
Yes..thats correct. As I said though it only powers down when in 'Activities' mode.

Offline mnhoward

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2008, 10:03:00 AM »
Does anyone know if this shutdown sequence would work on the Pronto 9300/9400?  I'm new to my Pronto (it's being delivered today), so was trying to read up on the sequences to program it while the install guys were there.

Thanks,
Mark

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2008, 10:16:23 AM »
These shut down macros should work for any remote.  All it does is move the cursor around on the XMB in order to select the Power Off item that Sony added to the menu in one of the latest firmware updates.  Obviously if you can't program in a button hold you will have to use a series of direction left and direction up commands so you can move the cursor. 
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline golf299

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2008, 03:59:11 PM »
On my Harmony 880 there is no milisecond selection when entering the off command... so when it performs the "direction left" command it only moves left one space, so if it is not already next to or on the "Turn System Off" on the XMB, it doesn't work.

Is there any way around this, or do I have to call Logitech to have them add the appropriate millisecond durations?

Thanks!

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2008, 11:43:19 PM »
Yes you will have to call or email Harmony support to get this macro added.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline mspace

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2009, 04:53:52 PM »
Ran into an issue while background downloading and powering off so I changed the macro to select power off after download complete. It is

DirectionLeft Duration in milliseconds 1000
DirectionUp Duration in milliseconds 500
X
Pause for 500 milliseconds
X
Direction Down
X

I am testing it now with a download, will report back if it works!

-Space


ETA:  Worked great!  PS3 Shutdown after download, and also shuts down normally when not doing a background download!
« Last Edit: January 02, 2009, 06:02:11 PM by mspace »

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #15 on: January 03, 2009, 03:22:00 PM »
Thanks mspace, sounds great.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline MiamiTurk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2009, 01:06:12 PM »
Logitech is limiting me to 5 commands. How did you guys get this added, looks like 7 steps?
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 01:11:39 PM by MiamiTurk »

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2009, 02:04:31 PM »
You can't add this command yourself.  You have to call or email Harmony support and have them add it.  They are not limited to 5 commands.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline MiamiTurk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2009, 08:49:08 AM »
I did e-mail them and they told me they were limited to 5 commands. I will e-mail them again.


Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Shut down macro for use with PS3IR-X1
« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2009, 09:34:13 AM »
You probably got a level 1 tech that doesn't know what he is talking about.  Even I can go into the software and set up a sequence of 6 commands to power it off, so him saying a maximum of 5 shows how ignorant he is.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).