Author Topic: ps3ir-500 does not pair with ps3  (Read 721 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline luck11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
ps3ir-500 does not pair with ps3
« on: April 05, 2010, 08:21:06 AM »
Hi.  Just received my 500.  I set up my Harmony 890 just fine.  When I power on or power off the 500, the 500 flashes once which tells me it is receiving the signal.  However, it does not operate our 120gb PS3.  I tried going into the PS3 settings, accessories and scanning for BT devices, but it does not find the 500.  I'm probably overlooking the obvious, but any assistance would be appreciated.

Cheers.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: ps3ir-500 does not pair with ps3
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 09:55:21 AM »
How are you powering the PS3-IR500?  You can plug it in to the PS3s USB ports for the initial pairing, but after that it has to have a USB power source that is on all the time (the PS3s USB ports turn off when it is off).
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline luck11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: ps3ir-500 does not pair with ps3
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 10:19:38 AM »
It's powered by my PVR, which always has power to the USB port. Regardless, I cannot get it to pair.

Offline rdenghel

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 309
Re: ps3ir-500 does not pair with ps3
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 03:12:48 PM »
Luck,

Power on the PS3 and the PS3IR-500. Using a game controller, go to Setting - Accessories Settings - Register BD Remote. The screen should say something about pressing START and SELECT, but you don't need to do anything. The screen should change to "Registering..." and then to "Register Completed."

After this process, the PS3 should react to commands from your universal remote.

Romeo Denghel
Schmartz, Inc.

Offline luck11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: ps3ir-500 does not pair with ps3
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2010, 09:53:49 PM »
Thanks for the replies.  I just got back but it seems to be working now.  My son played ps3 a few times and suddenly it began responding without any further attempts to rectify.  Thanks for the tips.  Now, a bit of mods to the layout of functions on the remote.
Cheers.