Author Topic: Yet another power off problem  (Read 981 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Joust

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Yet another power off problem
« on: February 02, 2010, 11:16:03 PM »
these seem to be quite common.
I am using my 500 with a 60gig ps3 and logitech 670 remote.
I mainly use my PS3 as a media player.
when watching a dvd, if i hit power off, it merely stops the dvd playback.
If I stop dvd playback first, then the power off works.

I find this frustrating because I know for a fact that the ps3 remote could turn off the ps3 in this mode. can the timings in the power off macro be adjusted?


on another topic....
can the 500 be synced with the ps3 while keeping the ps3 remote synced with the same ps3? when I synced the 500, my ps3 remote no longer works.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2010, 09:26:55 AM »
The PS3IR-Pro,  PS3IR-500, and PS3IR-1000 all connect to the same controller #7 on the PS3, just like the Sony Bluetooth remote.  Because of this you can only have one of them paired at a time.

As far as powering off when playing a movie goes, I thought that it worked but I don't remember for sure.  I will try it out at home.  It may just be that the power off macro will only work from the XMB since otherwise it would be too complex to design a macro that works in every situation.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline Joust

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2010, 02:44:10 PM »
thanks
cannot it be installed as controller #6? I want to have my STD PS3 remote available as the Logitech can be a royal pain to use if the macros fail.
and with this behavior. it is failing more times than not.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2010, 04:58:20 PM »
No it cannot be assigned to anything else.

I'm wondering if your issue might not be caused by something else.  Could you please log into your Harmony account and check the options setting for your Play a Blu-Ray/PS3 activity.  There should be an option for Send stop on exit, or something like that I can't remember the exact phrase.  You need to make sure that option is shut off so it doesn't send the stop command.  If the Harmony remote is sending out the stop command (which I'm betting it is), it can cause issues with the power off command.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline Joust

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2010, 08:18:58 PM »
Where is this option to Send Stop on Exit???
This is getting pretty frustrating. I'm on the verge of giving up on this product.
The main frustrating thing is I cannot tell if the problem is the 500 or the logitech...

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2010, 09:17:09 AM »
Log into your Harmony account and go to the activities page.

Click on Customize

Click Change Options

Select "Do Not Send Play" and " Don't Send Stop Command"

Click Save

Update your remote.

(I used the Harmony website for these directions, it may be slightly different using the software)
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline Joust

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2010, 01:31:39 PM »
I'm sorry but I could not find those selections.

I logged into the harmony forum and could not find those text strings there either.
it sounds like the solution but I cannot implement it.
is your harmony sw current? I just downloaded mine.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2010, 02:19:42 PM »
I was using the Harmony Website.

http://members.harmonyremote.com

For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline Joust

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2010, 08:36:30 PM »
found it thanks.
the web interface is different than the SW.
testy time.

Offline Joust

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Yet another power off problem
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2010, 08:20:20 PM »
getting closer...
at this point only sometimes, on my harmony remote,  I hit watch tv and it turns on the ps3.
could it be sending the power off signal to the ps3 because it turns it on.

I know the ps3ir-500 is supposed to remember the last state of the ps3 and deal with it accordingly but something is not working between the two.

is there a way I can have the watch movie macro turn on and off the ps3. but have NON of the others ever send a signal to the ps3 under any circumstance?