Author Topic: PS3IR-500 accepts only one command... need disconnect for next one  (Read 793 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dinde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Hi, I bought an PS3IR-500 this summer and I was able to make it work flawlessly with my PS3 and Harmony 880.

I can say that I'm not using the remote often when playing but it's mostly for some dvd playback and again it's not often so I can't say since when it stopped working.

What I can say is that now, everytime I issue one command on the harmony remote, it works, but all commands after will fail until I disconnect and reconnect the USB power on the  PS3IR500.  After the connection, one command will work (I tried many) and the next ones will not work.  After the first command, the Red light stays on on the PS3IR500.

I'm using default code from harmony and set A in the Util tool.
I tried upgrading PS3, PS3IR-500 and Harmony.  I even re-add the PS3-IR500 on my harmony, disconnect PS3, re-intalled IR500, etc.

I really have no clue now.

Can I have a defective unit?  Any settings that I may have not thought about?

Thanks you.

Stephane.

Offline dinde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3IR-500 accepts only one command... need disconnect for next one
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2009, 07:51:59 AM »
Sorry...  I forgot to add that the IR Input is set to Auto obviously.
Thanks.

Offline rdenghel

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 309
Re: PS3IR-500 accepts only one command... need disconnect for next one
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2009, 11:19:26 AM »
Stephane,

It is possible that you may have a defective unit. The one other thing to check is the power. For testing purposes, please plug in the 500 into one of the USB ports on the PS3. If you're still experiencing the same problems, that the unit is defective and we'll exchange it free of charge.

Romeo Denghel
Schmartz, Inc.

Offline dinde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3IR-500 accepts only one command... need disconnect for next one
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2009, 10:12:36 PM »
Thanks for the quick answer.

I did the test with the PS3 as the source of power and I have the same problem.

It's exactly like before.  The light is on, one command work (light flashes and the command is executed).  After that the light stays on and it never flashes again until I unplug it.  Sometimes, two commands in a row work but that's the best I can do.

If you don't think of anything else, I think I would have to have it replaced.

Can you explain me what is the procedure for that.

Thank you very much.

Offline rdenghel

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 309
Re: PS3IR-500 accepts only one command... need disconnect for next one
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2009, 10:09:15 AM »
Just send it in with a note describing the issue. That's it.

Romeo Denghel
Schmartz, Inc.