Author Topic: PS3 Disable Power Off  (Read 770 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
PS3 Disable Power Off
« on: October 10, 2009, 02:10:06 AM »
Ok, so I cannot turn PS3 on with PS3IRX1.  Then i'd prefer it just be ON all the time.  My 880 turns off the PS3 quit nicely with the "all off" button or when switching activities.  How can I disable that?

Offline rdenghel

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 309
Re: PS3 Disable Power Off
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2009, 12:36:45 PM »
Rick,

I suspect you need to edit the activity that has the PS3IRX1 and take out the power off commands.

Romeo Denghel
Schmartz, Inc.

Offline Rick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3 Disable Power Off
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2009, 12:28:05 PM »
Thank you, rdenghel, you are right - I was just logging in to report that I found that this is a simple matter using the Harmony activity editor.  It was easy.  Any device can be excluded from the "all off" command.

I have a new problem - I assign X to the Ok button (not sure why that isn't done by default - perhaps therein lies a reason...?) and it doesn't work.  The up, down, left, and right buttons are assigned and work great.  Everything would be perfect if I could just get this last thing to work!

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: PS3 Disable Power Off
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2009, 01:33:28 PM »
The most common reason for the ok button not to repond correctly is that the button mappings were not done correctly.  You need to make sure to map the X command to the ok button in both the device mode and the activity mode.  Most people only do one or the other and not both.  Once you have made sure to change the assignment in both places you have to hook your remote up to your computer and update it for the changes to take effect.

I highly recommend still turning off your PS3 when it is not in use.  The PS3 uses a lot of electricity, and leaving it on all the time is pretty wasteful.  I'm not exactly the most "green" person (I still use incandescent bulbs, leave my phone chargers plugged in, etc.), but I do at least try to turn off items that aren't being used.  Most of the time you have to go to the PS3 to swap out a disc anyway so it's easy to just turn it on then.  To each their own though.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).