Author Topic: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library  (Read 7876 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MMuecke

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 293
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #20 on: July 01, 2008, 11:55:26 AM »
Absolutely correct! That's one of the reasons why I think the ability to download firmware updates is essential for a product like this. It's much much more work for me to support since I have to support a PC app and manage the updates but, well worth it in the end!

Offline mcorton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #21 on: July 02, 2008, 11:31:47 AM »
Indeed - the guys behind IR2BT must be feeling it a bit right now...  :-\

Offline AVHomeInstalls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2008, 11:41:37 AM »
I've added the PowerOff and changed the power on 'PowerToggle' and power off to 'PowerOff'.   What firmware on the PS3IR Pro do I need?  Because the power off is not doing anything with PS3 firmware 2.40 release.  Thanks.

Offline mcorton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #23 on: July 02, 2008, 11:43:23 AM »
1.06

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #24 on: July 02, 2008, 02:15:53 PM »
I would hold off on updating the firmware until we can figure out the best power off sequence to use with the new Playstation 3 firmware 2.4

I am at work so I haven't had a chance to update and test different power off sequences.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline dogdoctor

  • Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 54
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #25 on: July 02, 2008, 02:56:25 PM »
I would hold off on updating the firmware until we can figure out the best power off sequence to use with the new Playstation 3 firmware 2.4

I am at work so I haven't had a chance to update and test different power off sequences.
I'm stuck running 1.02 and the discrete power off still works fine.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2008, 03:05:30 PM by dogdoctor »

Offline MMuecke

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 293
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #26 on: July 03, 2008, 11:07:14 AM »
It's working better, but not perfectly? What keeps it from being perfect? Perhaps I can help.

Offline goresnet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #27 on: July 03, 2008, 12:20:14 PM »
if the box has the poweroff macro in it (and working after 2.40) why would you need this programmed in the device library?

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #28 on: July 03, 2008, 12:55:51 PM »
This PowerOff command is the IR signal that tells the Pro to send out the power off macro.  I don't think that Logitech has added the PowerOff command into the database for the Pro yet.  So unless you add this command yourself, you cannot take advantage of the newer firmware versions of the Pro (with the exception of the 1.04 firmware which uses the 0 button to launch the macro).
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline MMuecke

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 293
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #29 on: July 03, 2008, 01:16:18 PM »
I would hold off on updating the firmware until we can figure out the best power off sequence to use with the new Playstation 3 firmware 2.4

I am at work so I haven't had a chance to update and test different power off sequences.

Once everyone is updated to PRO firmware V1.6 and have the POWER OFF command available in their remote, the internal OFF macro works perfectly with all of the versions of the PS3 firmware and in all PS3 modes (Game, DVD, XBR).

I have tested this here in the lab up to PS3 Firmware V2.4. It will be a week or so before all of the units with the upgrade problem are replaced and then all will be golden. Sometimes it seems a bit like trying to chnage the tire on a car while it is rolling down the highway but, eventually it gets done. LOL

Offline goresnet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #30 on: July 06, 2008, 03:23:10 PM »
OK.. so it's in the box, you just need to go through this to let the harmony remotes actually tell the box to do it. I have the harmony one (and no IR to BT solution yet), that's why I'm curious. Thanks!

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #31 on: July 07, 2008, 11:16:26 AM »
Yes, this command makes it much easier to program your Harmony One.  You will go into the power settings for your Pro device and tell the Harmony to send the new PowerOff command to power the unit off.  This is much easier than having to go through the steps to get the macro programmed into the Harmony.  Then whenever you hit the all off button on your Harmony One, it will just send a single short command which tells the Pro to send the power off macro.

Otherwise for units like the IR2BT the Harmony One has to send out the macro itself.  That means you have to sit there and keep your remote pointed at the IR2BT for the full 4 seconds or so that it takes the remote to send out all of the commands to shut the PS3 down.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline philhu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #32 on: July 08, 2008, 10:34:57 AM »
Note:  If you do this, you LOSE all other learned commands and will have to relearn them.

I had added the Nyko command set to the PS3IR Ps3 device in my harmony account.  This allowed my to use a PS3IR
box for one PS3 and the Nyko for my upstairs one using only 1 harmony device slot.

I added this powerOff command and ALL my learned Nyko commands were removed.  I could relearn them, but it
did delete them.

Just an FYI

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #33 on: July 08, 2008, 11:38:47 AM »
Sorry about that philhu, I did not know it would delete the other learned commands.  I know if you try to learn more than one command this way it will delete the others, but I did not know it would delete commands you have learned by teaching the remote.

I have updated the first post to warn others.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline tkhan456

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #34 on: July 11, 2008, 01:03:41 PM »
I can't get this to work.  I have a Monster control (MCC-300) which uses Harmony software.  If I follow these instructions I can get all the way to the part where it says Converted from Pronto Successfully!, but when I hit the Next button, it keeps saying the page doesnt exist.  Can anyone help?  Mike, could you contact Harmony and get on their case about added the PowerOff button.  Thanks
« Last Edit: July 11, 2008, 01:38:17 PM by tkhan456 »

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #35 on: July 21, 2008, 04:41:28 PM »
If anyone is having trouble getting your Harmony remote working correctly do not hesitate to send me a private message.  I can try to help you by sending you instructions by PM or email.  Or you could include your Harmony login and password in the message and I can make the settings changes myself and then you just need to connect your remote and update the settings.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline MMuecke

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 293
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #36 on: July 24, 2008, 08:25:16 PM »
I can't get this to work.  I have a Monster control (MCC-300) which uses Harmony software.  If I follow these instructions I can get all the way to the part where it says Converted from Pronto Successfully!, but when I hit the Next button, it keeps saying the page doesnt exist.  Can anyone help?  Mike, could you contact Harmony and get on their case about added the PowerOff button.  Thanks

I have heard this before. On other remotes that use the Harmony soiftware, this may be a problem. Have you seen this Beerstalker?

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #37 on: July 25, 2008, 04:12:24 PM »
Sorry I do not have any experience with the Monster remotes.

tkhan456, if you want to PM me your login info I can try to add the PowerOff command for you.

Otherwise you can call Harmony support and get them to add it for you.  When you talk to support tell them that you need to talk to level 2 support because you need to add a PowerOff discreet command using Pronto Hex codes.  They will transfer you to a level 2 support person who will most likely send you an email asking for the Hex command.  You reply to that email and copy/paste the hex command from the first post in this thread.  A few hours later you should get an email back from them letting you know that they added the command to your account, and you need to update your remote settings to take advantage of it.

I have done this personally to add the discreet PowerOn and PowerOff commands for my Toshiba HD-A3.  It really is pretty painless, but a bit time consuming waiting on hold to talk to someone.  Luckily I just put them on speakerphone at work and keep working until someone answers.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2008, 04:17:22 PM by Beerstalker »
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline slarti_b

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #38 on: July 28, 2008, 12:39:20 PM »
one question though - if you turn the PS3 off and later press "help" within a different activity, will it still switch the PS3 back on (when it attempts to power everything else off again to be sure) or is the firmware in the PRO clever enough not to do this?

I can confirm that this does happen. When the PS3 is off and you press the "help" button on your Harmony remote, the PS3 gets turned back on. Does anyone know of a way to stop this from happening?

Thanks
-Slarti_b
« Last Edit: July 28, 2008, 12:56:51 PM by slarti_b »

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #39 on: July 29, 2008, 12:07:30 PM »
There is no way to get around this with the current firmware.  There has been talk of a new firmware version with power tracking, but I am not sure if Mike is going to do that or not.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).