Author Topic: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library  (Read 8905 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
***** UPDATE *****
As of August 1st Logitech has added the PowerOff command to the database for the Schmartz PS3IR-Pro device, and it has been verifired to work.  People using the Game Console with DVD/Schmartz/PS3IR-Pro device do not need to go through these steps.

For people with a Harmony One or 1000/1100 that want the color button icons that come along with the Game Console with DVD/Sony/PlayStation 3 device you have an option here.  You can contact Logitech support and ask them to add the PowerOff command to the Sony PlayStation 3 device in your account.  Tell them you have the Power Off command in "Long Pronto Hex format" and supply them with the following code.

0000 0067 0000 0015 0060 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 01C2

Or you can send me a PM with your Harmony login and password and I can add the PowerOff command for you.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2009, 11:05:33 AM by Beerstalker »
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline cayotte

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 08:37:49 PM »
Great work!!! It's just ....... why take you so long to come up with this such great idea???
Anyway.... THANKS.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2008, 09:25:38 PM »
Does that mean you got it to work?

I didn't think to write this up before because I hadn't seen where Grimmace had posted the long hex format of the PowerOff function until today.  Once I saw that I decided to go ahead and write this up. 
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline East Coast Joe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2008, 10:13:15 PM »
This is a one IR command configuration for Power Off?
This IR command will work with either the 1.02 or 1.03?

THANKS SO MUCH.  This is GREAT.  Looking forward to the above confirmation then to proceed to the firmware 1.02.

Thanks,
East Coast Joe

Offline dogdoctor

  • Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 54
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2008, 10:59:52 PM »
Does that mean you got it to work?

I didn't think to write this up before because I hadn't seen where Grimmace had posted the long hex format of the PowerOff function until today.  Once I saw that I decided to go ahead and write this up. 
You are the bomb!!! I just added the IR OFF Command to the IR2BT profile that I had been using. Bingo - perfect! I could hug you.
Mike, no offense, but like i said earlier the IR2BT profile is just more complete. But now it's perfect with a PS3IRPowerOff command added to the list. Since I was using the IR2BT profile I selected the new command and set it for 1000ms and then deleted the other commands. Now I just have to start getting into the habit of not holding the remote at the box for 5 to 10 extra secs. ;)

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2008, 12:09:31 AM »
Yes this is the one button press PowerOff command that would be used with firmware versions 1.02 and 1.03.

DogDoctor, thanks for the confirmation that everything worked.  You shouldn't have to set the PowerOff command to be held down at all.  You should just be able to send it the same as any other button press, the Pro unit will take care of the rest.  As far as what device you use that is up to you.  As you can see it doesn't really matter.  I personally still use the Sony PlayStation 3 device, as it has all of the same IR commands as the IR2BT, and Pro unit mapped to it now.  The only commands missing in the PlayStation 3 device is the PowerOff command that I have shown you how to add here.  The big advantage of using the PlayStation 3 device is that Harmony will give you nice color icons for the X, O, Triangle and Square buttons.  These icons are not available for the IR2BT or Pro devices (and Harmony won't let them be added to them).
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline dogdoctor

  • Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 54
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2008, 12:32:05 AM »
DogDoctor, thanks for the confirmation that everything worked.  You shouldn't have to set the PowerOff command to be held down at all.  You should just be able to send it the same as any other button press, the Pro unit will take care of the rest.  As far as what device you use that is up to you.  As you can see it doesn't really matter.  I personally still use the Sony PlayStation 3 device, as it has all of the same IR commands as the IR2BT, and Pro unit mapped to it now.  The only commands missing in the PlayStation 3 device is the PowerOff command that I have shown you how to add here.  The big advantage of using the PlayStation 3 device is that Harmony will give you nice color icons for the X, O, Triangle and Square buttons.  These icons are not available for the IR2BT or Pro devices (and Harmony won't let them be added to them).
Ok, I will try the power off sequence thing again. That being said. Not one hour after adding the device to the IR2BT profile, logitech emails me and says they copied the poweroff command from the schmartz profile to my IR2BT profile. ::)
Oh well. so you say you can get color icons huh? I thought that was just for the harmony one. Aren't those with the 880 are stuck with the text icons?

EDIT: Don't use the PS3 profile with the Schmartz - you will still get the excessive button press glitch. I don't know why the PS3IR-PRO and IR2BT profiles don't do that, but that is what I'm sticking to for now.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2008, 12:56:54 AM by dogdoctor »

Offline chipwilson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2008, 08:05:24 AM »
I have a harmony 890, and your instructions worked perfectly!

Thank you for your extremely valuable contribution.

BTW, I used Firefox 2.0 and opened each link in a new tab, and had no difficulties.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2008, 10:25:15 AM »
Oh well. so you say you can get color icons huh? I thought that was just for the harmony one. Aren't those with the 880 are stuck with the text icons?

EDIT: Don't use the PS3 profile with the Schmartz - you will still get the excessive button press glitch. I don't know why the PS3IR-PRO and IR2BT profiles don't do that, but that is what I'm sticking to for now.

I have both the Harmony One, and the Harmony 880.  The Harmony one has nice color graphic icons if you use the PlayStation 3 device.  I didn't know there was an issue with the Pro unit responding to the commands in the PlayStation 3 device library.  Is this true even if you reduce the repeats to 0 or 1?  I have my repeats reduced to 0 and my device works great with the PlayStation 3 device commands.

I would suggest anyone who has a Harmony other than the One or the 1000 check out my other thread about adding text icons to your screen.
http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum/index.php?topic=75.0
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline East Coast Joe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2008, 11:40:38 AM »
I could not get the firmware updater to work with my laptop (XP and SP2)  but was with my desktop (Vista with SP1) 

Thanks for the links and instructions.  This worked PERFECTLY.  This simply proves that the firmware 1.02 is PERFECT on its own and most of the fault it with Logitech not adding the PS3IR-PRO power OFF IR command.  I hope enough uses ask Logitech so that they just break down and add the Power OFF IR (and NOT THE MACRO).  The MACRO as seen with the IR2BT is a "bandaid"... I don't want to hold my remote up for 5-10 seconds until everything shuts down.  I see many posts saying that they needed to use the IR2BT profile.  I don't agree.  I deleeted my "old" PS3IR-PRO device and added it back... to get the latest files.  Now it works 100% (with the inclusion of Beerstalkers 52nd IR command instructions).

I can now  :)simply use the product and sit back and enjoy my Harmony One the way I want.

Beerstalker, Grimmace, and especially Mike --> Many thanks for the great product and support.

East Coast Joe

Offline pramod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2008, 05:41:43 PM »
Hey guys this works great. Great job on figuring out a way to add this.

I am having one small problem though. The ps3 turns off when not in game but doesnt turn off when in game. Doing some research I figured it is sending the sequence ps, down, ps (3s), x, x notice the single down after the first ps and not two downs. Are you guys seeing this or is it just an issue that I am seeing which would be strange. I am using firmware 1.02.

Offline dogdoctor

  • Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 54
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #11 on: June 21, 2008, 05:07:14 PM »
Is this true even if you reduce the repeats to 0 or 1?  I have my repeats reduced to 0 and my device works great with the PlayStation 3 device commands.
You know I didn't try it since I just updated the IR2BT profile and it works straight up without tinkering with the repeats. I'll try that another day. I did use your graphical icons, works like a charm. Square - alt+0141 (you didn't post taht but I found your post at AVS).
Quote from: East Coast Joe
I see many posts saying that they needed to use the IR2BT profile.  I don't agree.  I deleted my "old" PS3IR-PRO device and added it back... to get the latest files.  Now it works 100%
Just clarify...no the new profile for Schmartz contains ALL the PS3 remote buttons - including red, green, blue, yellow. If so then yes the IR2BT profile and the Schmartz profile are identical and one can easily add the schmartz power off with the nice directions by Beerstalker.

Offline ChrisS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2008, 07:22:04 AM »
Beerstalker you are the man!

This really works great. Thanks for this terrific contribution.

Chris

Offline Grimmace

  • Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2008, 06:15:01 PM »
I didn't know the Harmony used IPronto codes. I'll post any new ones that are needed for you guys too. I didn't know anyone else used the IPronto codes, I thought it was just the regular Pronto Hex codes that were used. Glad it worked for someone else.

Offline SCF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2008, 08:17:52 PM »
 :D  I have an Harmony 890 ( have had it about 3 weeks)  Love it.   Just installed the ps3ir-pro.  Had problems with power off.  Installed these new commands and it seems to be working better. 

Thanks
SCF

Offline mcorton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #15 on: June 26, 2008, 05:04:23 PM »
this sounds great and I'll definitely be trying the firmware upgrade now and add the power off to my harmony 885

one question though - if you turn the PS3 off and later press "help" within a different activity, will it still switch the PS3 back on (when it attempts to power everything else off again to be sure) or is the firmware in the PRO clever enough not to do this?

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #16 on: June 26, 2008, 08:13:28 PM »
this sounds great and I'll definitely be trying the firmware upgrade now and add the power off to my harmony 885

one question though - if you turn the PS3 off and later press "help" within a different activity, will it still switch the PS3 back on (when it attempts to power everything else off again to be sure) or is the firmware in the PRO clever enough not to do this?

At this time, yes the PS3 would end up turning back on.

Personally I try to never use the help button after I hit the all off command.  If one of my devices gets left on, I just go into the device mode for it and shut it off myself.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2008, 08:15:23 PM by Beerstalker »
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline mcorton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2008, 07:00:28 PM »
absolutely brilliant, thanks for this!

works perfectly on my Harmony 885 after the latest firmware update (1.06)

I'm very happy :D

Offline alb0806

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2008, 08:23:00 AM »
I was just thinking, with Sony updating the PS3s firmware to 2.40 is the PowerOff IR command going to have trouble when used in game?  From what I've read the PS button needs to be pressed once to access the xmb when in game and then once again to bring up the standard menu that comes up now to change controller settings, turn off the system, etc...

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: How to add the PowerOff IR command to your Harmony Device Library
« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2008, 09:14:03 AM »
Yes there is a good chance that the 2.4 update will end up changing the power off sequence, at least when you are in a game.  We will just have to experiment and find a new power off sequence that works and then Mike can make a new firmware version for it.

The PowerOff IR command will stay the same though.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).