Author Topic: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1  (Read 2066 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Toeknee182

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« on: August 26, 2009, 01:13:39 PM »
Does it work with the PS3 Slim?

Toe-Knee

Offline rdenghel

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 309
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009, 03:43:55 PM »
Our very own PS3 Slim is on its way to us. We'll let you know after it arrives.

Romeo Denghel
Schmartz, Inc.

Offline Rick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2009, 12:31:25 PM »
I have the PS3 Slim - and it is working great - except having trouble getting the Ok button to issue an X command.  Will post here if I solve this.

Offline rdenghel

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 309
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2009, 02:11:16 PM »
Rick,

Yes, the PS3IRX1 does work with the PS3.

This might be a silly question, but did you update the remote after changing the settings?

Romeo Denghel
Schmartz, Inc.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2009, 02:14:14 PM by rdenghel »

Offline remotedly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2009, 08:43:22 PM »
I just got a 250GB Slim, but it always seems to make the controller start up as #2. I'll have to do a few more power ons/offs before I can be certain. Yes, I am using the PS button on the controller to power on, but I'm not using the controller that came with the system. Although that shouldn't matter.  ???

Offline remotedly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3 Slim &
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2010, 02:25:50 AM »
After some more testing it looks like my controller always starts up as #2. My PS3IRX1 is over a year old I think, so do only the newer ones work with the slim?

Offline rdenghel

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 309
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2010, 01:56:31 PM »
There is no old or new X1. The X1 hasn't changed in over a year. It works with both the "fat" and the Slim PS3s. You can reassign your controller from the Settings menu.

Romeo Denghel
Schmartz, Inc.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2010, 05:29:03 PM »
What kind of game controller are you using?  Does it have a USB dongle that must be plugged into the PS3?  If so that is most likely the problem.  If you start using a Sony PS3 controller it should automatically pair as controller #1.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline remotedly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2010, 09:25:30 PM »
I have 3 PS3 controllers and none of them take spot #1 with the slim when the IRX1 is installed. Since always taking slot #2 was a selling point of the the IRX1, it is best to say it partially works with the slim.

Offline tk1971

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2010, 01:14:43 AM »
Just received my PS3IRX1.  Like with an earlier post, I cannot assign X or Enter to the OK button.  What I mean by that is that I can configure it that way, but the OK button doesn't work like X nor Enter.  In addition, the X and E (Enter) soft buttons on the Harmony 880 screen work.  It's just counter-intuitive to be reaching that far with my thumb, when the OK button is right in the middle of all the direction buttons.  My slim is up to date and is showing v3.15 (250gb model).  Any fixes to this?

tk

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2010, 02:16:51 PM »
Just received my PS3IRX1.  Like with an earlier post, I cannot assign X or Enter to the OK button.  What I mean by that is that I can configure it that way, but the OK button doesn't work like X nor Enter.  In addition, the X and E (Enter) soft buttons on the Harmony 880 screen work.  It's just counter-intuitive to be reaching that far with my thumb, when the OK button is right in the middle of all the direction buttons.  My slim is up to date and is showing v3.15 (250gb model).  Any fixes to this?

tk

Are you sure you are updating the remote correctly?  You need to map the X command to the ok button in both the device and activity, and then hook your remote up to the computer and go through the update process.

Many people make the mistake of only changing the button mapping in the device mode, but not the activity.  Some people don't remember to hook the remote up to the computer to update the remote's programming to reflect the changes they made.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline tk1971

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2010, 10:37:27 PM »
Looks like I'm like most people...   ???  (clueless)

Brilliant advice.  I missed reassigning the buttons in the Activity completely.  It has been exactly 2 years since I played with the Harmony setup.

Everything works great now.

Thanks.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2010, 10:01:34 AM »
No problem, like I said many people make that mistake.  I'm just glad it was an easy one to figure out and everything is working great for you now.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline tk1971

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: PS3 Slim & PS3IRX1
« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2010, 06:11:27 PM »
BTW, I found a quirk in the way my devices boot up vs how well the remote works:

I have noticed when everything powers up out of the Harmony sequence (basically, I have to turn on the PS3 slim first, then let the Harmony turn on the TV and the receiver), the remote functionality is erratic. When I go left or right, the cursor goes all the way to the left or right (doesn't stop with just one button press... it just keeps on going left or right). It took me a little bit to figure out that if the PS3 is powered on after everything else, this happens (like when I activate the activity, leave the remote on the coffee table, then go and turn on the PS3).

Anyone else notice this?  My setup:  PS3 slim to Marantz SR6003 via HDMI (video and audio LPCM); Regza to SR6003 via HDMI.

At least I know now how to deal with it.

tk