Author Topic: Only ps buttons working with Harmony 890  (Read 988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline foghat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Only ps buttons working with Harmony 890
« on: December 17, 2008, 09:38:38 PM »
Hi,

Just got the ps3irx1.  Am trying to use it it with my harmony 890.  I am running the wireless extender, though I have also tried using the remote directly as well.

The only buttons that work are the circle, square, triangle and x.  Nothing else.  the direction pad, enter button, and none of the dvd playback buttons work.

Any thoughts?

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Only ps buttons working with Harmony 890
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2008, 11:05:05 AM »
Did you go into the Harmony settings and make sure that the commands are mapped properly to the buttons in both the activity and device mode?  You have to make sure to map the X command to the OK button if you haven't already.  I also like to map the square and triangle commands to the menu and guide buttons, and the O command to the exit button. 
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline foghat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Only ps buttons working with Harmony 890
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2008, 11:37:07 AM »
No I didn't map or verify the commands.  Assumed that mapping would be taken care of by way of selecting and adding the ps3irx1 as a device.

Will try when I get home today and let you know how it goes.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Only ps buttons working with Harmony 890
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2008, 04:45:37 PM »
One other thing, did you creat a Play a DVD activity or a Play Game activity?  I know there are a lot of issues if you try using a play game activity, you want to make sure to use a Play a DVD activity.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline foghat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Only ps buttons working with Harmony 890
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2008, 09:52:48 PM »
Yep, I created a Play  Game activity.  That was the problem.  Works like gold after creating a play dvd activity and mapping the x to ok.

Thanks.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Only ps buttons working with Harmony 890
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2008, 10:06:29 AM »
No problem, glad you got it to work. 

If you haven't seen it already I would suggest you check out this thread.

http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum/index.php?topic=90.0

You can call or email Harmony support and ask them to set up a macro that will automatically power down your PS3 when you leave the activity or hit the all off button (you still won't be able to power it on with the PS3IR-X1 though).
« Last Edit: December 19, 2008, 10:09:01 AM by Beerstalker »
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).