Author Topic: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880  (Read 1520 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« on: November 01, 2008, 10:38:50 PM »
OK, shelled out the franklin for the little box (MY WIFE IS GONNA KILL ME IF SHE FINDS OUT, WE JUSTHAD TWINS)  and 4 questions already, and romeo in tech support said i should start here.  paired everything up with my harmony 880 like the instructinos said, no problem, paired it with the ps3 but;]

1. Unit will not power on with the 'WATCH A MOVIE' macro,

2 unit will not power down

3. for the life of me i cant find the key that mimics the 'P3 CONTROLLERs 'SELECT' KEY, I LIKE LOOKING AT THAT DURING THE MOVIE AS IT DISPLAYS THE TYPE OF AUDIO MODE I AM IN (true Hd) when running through my onkyo 805

4, this one hard to explain, wehn i was in the ps3 menue, when i pused the pad left it scrolled all the way left to the log off screen, if i pushed right, it would scroll all the way to the right to the chat friends area. IS IT SUPPOSED TO DO that/

DISSAPOINTED IN THE LACK OF SETUP, TROUBLE SHOOTING, BUT I WAS TOLD THE FORUM WAS IT, SO I APPRECIATETHE HELP.  IF THIS IS DUPLICATE I AM SORRY , JUST DON'T CRAP ALL OVER ME]


THANKS

Offline ac_burt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2008, 08:23:38 AM »
Congrats on the twins!

The moderators probably aren't going to like my suggestions, but it worked for me and now I am enjoying just having one remote again. :)

1 & 2 - I was having the same issues until I switched my Harmony profile to use IR2BT.  Although you do have to keep your remote pointed at the PS3IR-PRO a little longer so it can process all of the commands for shutting down the PS3.

3 - I reconfigured the LCD buttons to include the select feature along with the square, circle, triangle, and x functions.  This seems to be the best solution.  At least for me.

4 - No this isn't normal.  If you change your profile like I suggested this issue should also get resolved.

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2008, 06:32:00 PM »
1.  You need to go into the power settings for the PS3IR-Pro device and make sure it is set up correctly.  Use the PowerToggle command for power on and the PowerOff command for power off.

2.  See above

3.  You will need to map the X command to the OK button.  Harmony has a problem with their software where any enter/select commands are automatically mapped to the OK button in the database.  This does not work well with the PS3.  You need to go in and manually change the buttonmapping to make the OK button use the X command.  Do this for both your PS3 activity and the  PS3IR-Pro device.

4.  You need to adjust the number of repeats for your PS3IR-Pro device.  Go to the device page and find your  PS3IR-Pro device.  Click on Troubleshoot.  Tell it the device is "responding too many times or not enough" or whatever the selection closest to that is.  Set the repeats value to 0 and update your remote.

If you don't know how to do this I can log in and do it for you.  Send me a PM with your login name and password.  However, I am going to be away from my computer from Nov 5th until Nov 13th, so it might be a while before I can get to it.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2008, 07:17:34 PM »
please see my pm....my 2nd one...thanks man, you rock...appreciate it!

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2008, 07:22:46 PM »
hey guys feel bad about my 1st post, i am used to some forum sites that make you feel like a moron, or thread crap, yall obviously don't......sorry

gig em

and for my t sip friends, sorry about the raiders, that suxs

mike and beerstalker , my apologies

Offline MMuecke

  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 293
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2008, 07:40:33 PM »
Great to hear it's all working well now.

As far as Sat night's game... Yeah, I couldn't understand why Colt ran out of bounds instead of sliding down past the first down marker. Doh! They left way too much time on the clock. Oh well, as bad as they played in the first half, they were doing good to have a chance at all. I think it's really hard to play "your best game ever" four weeks in a row. That's what their opponents were motivated to do since for each of them Texas was the team on their schedule they most wanted to beat. College football is so much more interesting than pro ball IMHO. It's all about heart not money.

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2008, 07:48:24 PM »
mike, i hear ya.....

not quite up to speed yet on the pro, but i think beerstalker is going to help...thanks, will shout

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2008, 07:49:54 PM »
Great to hear it's all working well now.

As far as Sat night's game... Yeah, I couldn't understand why Colt ran out of bounds instead of sliding down past the first down marker. Doh! They left way too much time on the clock. Oh well, as bad as they played in the first half, they were doing good to have a chance at all. I think it's really hard to play "your best game ever" four weeks in a row. That's what their opponents were motivated to do since for each of them Texas was the team on their schedule they most wanted to beat. College football is so much more interesting than pro ball IMHO. It's all about heart not money.

also,when you are 1 they are always gunning for ya, and the raiders are tough as hell at home!

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2008, 02:48:55 PM »
I will try to get to it tonight.  I worked 75 hours last week, and spent all weekend working on my truck.  My girlfriend was pretty mad at me already so I only got a chance to work on 1 remote setup request last night.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2008, 05:44:14 PM »
hey man seriously thanks.....you are going over and above, but i do appreciate it.....

if you want to name your beer and your address (and you state allows) , i will send you a 12 your way....thanks

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2008, 02:02:28 PM »
hey beerstalker, i know you said you were offline....for a while....i tried the ir2bt ps2 setting and still had some issues....

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2008, 08:53:40 AM »
sorry to be such a whiner...but i am still having problems.....tried the ir2bt route, still had similar problems as noted above, is it my unit or me?

beerstalker , can i take you up on your programming offer?

sorry, and thanks to all.... ???

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2008, 02:03:00 PM »
Ok, help please someone.....

I had my brother over yesterday to show him the new set up and it is still doing the things i outlined above......all he  could do was taunt me on how much i paid for this....i hate my  brother....

i have deleted everthing, tried to reinstall my 880 with the settings at it is still

acting as in my 1st post....

ANY IDEAS, or should i just send it back?

Thanks

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2008, 10:10:37 AM »
Sorry it took me so long, but I was finally able to log in and change some settings in your account this morning.  Everything should work fine now, but if there are any problems let me know and I will try to get to them right away.

Sorry again for the long wait.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #14 on: November 25, 2008, 10:35:10 AM »
Sorry it took me so long, but I was finally able to log in and change some settings in your account this morning.  Everything should work fine now, but if there are any problems let me know and I will try to get to them right away.

Sorry again for the long wait.

hey, please don't apologize you are the one helping me...just to make sure, cause i have two harmony accounts....it was for the 880, using (I removed your login info so others don't hack your account-Beerstalker).

so do i just run an update with the soft ware, or do i need to reinstal...thanks alot, seriously....
« Last Edit: November 25, 2008, 04:21:58 PM by Beerstalker »

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #15 on: November 25, 2008, 04:25:24 PM »
Yes that account with the Harmony 880 was the one I updated.

All you should have to do is log in to that account and click on the button to update your remote.  Then just follow the directions it gives you to update the remote (you will need to plug the remote into the computer using a USB cable).
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline interestedparty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: HELP, NEW ONE SETTING UP A HARMONY 880
« Reply #16 on: November 25, 2008, 04:58:09 PM »
Yes that account with the Harmony 880 was the one I updated.

All you should have to do is log in to that account and click on the button to update your remote.  Then just follow the directions it gives you to update the remote (you will need to plug the remote into the computer using a USB cable).

thank you sir, will do that tonight.....will let you know if i have issues...thanks again