Author Topic: What is meant by discreet power on/off  (Read 1267 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BetaMark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
What is meant by discreet power on/off
« on: September 06, 2008, 10:52:06 PM »
What exactly is meant by "discreet power on/power off?"

Offline Grimmace

  • Expert
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
Re: Discreet power on/off
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2008, 08:30:04 AM »
Usually a remote just has an on/off button. You hit the button and the device goes to the state it is not currently in (on to off for instance). Discrete codes only do that one command. If you have a discrete on, it will only turn the device on. If the device is already on it will not turn off. The device will get the on code and stay on. These are great for building macros since you do not have to worry which state the device is in since the discrete code will only do exactly what you want, turn or keep on a device, or turn off or let a device stay off. The problem is most manufactures do not release the discrete codes and it can be a pain to find and implement them sometimes.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2008, 03:30:50 PM by Grimmace »

Offline ktdt00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: What is meant by discreet power on/off
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 08:43:19 AM »
I have the PS3IR+PWR and my PS3 is current but I don't think it will turn the PS3 Off without the wire (which the cats ate). Should it be able to? I mean if Sony activated the feature shouldn't the PS3IR+PWR receive and translate the code?

Also - when I bought my PS3IR+PWR I had to use a PSP to activate the Power On feature. Is this thread indicating that the Power On feature is completely eliminated and that even the PSP can't turn the PS3 on remotely any more?

Thanks!!

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: What is meant by discreet power on/off
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2008, 03:21:43 PM »
If you do not have the wire anymore then it will not be able to use the built in power off function anymore.  Sony turned power off to the USB ports in one of the firmware updates a while back, no matter if you have a PSP set up to work with your PS3 or not, so it will not be able to power on the PS3 at all.

However, you can still use your PS3IR+PWR like the old PS3IR-X1, and set it up to turn the PS3 off that way.  I have posted a couple different power off macros you can try to set up on your remote in this thread.
http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum/index.php?topic=90.0
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).