Author Topic: stupid q: what is ps3irx1??  (Read 899 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nicmare

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
stupid q: what is ps3irx1??
« on: August 26, 2008, 04:51:15 AM »
i want to use my home cinema devices including the ps3 with a universal remote.
i googled a while and finally found this site.
obviously i need the ps3ir-pro. but what is the ps3irx1? cant really find out it on your homepage. is there a special need for that device??
i guess the irx1 is an older version and therefore cheaper. are there advantages of the pro version? because i like the tiny irx1 :)
how big is the pro box? cant finde measurements!
i am from germany and therefore i have some problems finding out the need for this device.
regards
nic
« Last Edit: August 26, 2008, 04:54:56 AM by nicmare »

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: stupid q: what is ps3irx1??
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2008, 09:44:11 AM »
The PS3IRX1 is the original device Mike Muecke designed to allow control of the PS3 with a infrared remote.  It is a really small device that plugs into one of the USB ports on the front of the PS3 and allows a infrared remote to perform any command that you can do with a game controller (except the PS Home button).

The PS3IRX1 cannot turn the PS3 on with your remote, you will have to push the buttons on the PS3 or use a controller to turn it on.  The PS3IRX1 will take up controller slot 1 if you turn the PS3 on with the buttons on the machine.  You can easily re-assign a game controller to slot 1 by hitting the PS Home button on the controller and selecting the re-assign controller option.

If you have the latest firmware for the PS3 you can use the PS3IRX1 to turn the PS3 off.  Sony added a power off option to the Cross Media Bar (XMB) in one of the latest firmware updates.  I have posted a series of commands in this forum that you can include in a macro to automatically shut the PS3 off using this menu option.

The major commands that you will not be able to use with the PS3IRX1 are PS Home, the four color buttons, angle, audio, subtitle, and eject.  Most of these commands can be accomplished if you use the triangle button to bring up the on screen command list and select them from there.

The PS3IR-Pro allows full control of the PS3.  It includes all of the commands on the Sony Bluetooth remote including the color buttons, angle, audio, subtitle, and eject.  It also supports the PS Home button, and can turn the PS3 on and off.  With the latest firmware Mike has added a power tracking feature that helps prevent accidental power up of the PS3.

Here is the main Schmartz page where you can read up on the two products.
http://www.schmartstuff.com/

I hope this helps.
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).

Offline nicmare

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
Re: stupid q: what is ps3irx1??
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2008, 10:06:08 AM »
that helps alot. thank you very much!

Offline nealh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: stupid q: what is ps3irx1??
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2008, 10:31:39 AM »
So inorder to use the PS3irx1 for shutdown you have to create the macro on the harmony remote..this macro is not automatic or d/led from harmony
Not sure if I am asking this correctly
TIA

Offline Beerstalker

  • Harmony Remote Specialist
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
Re: stupid q: what is ps3irx1??
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2008, 10:58:42 AM »
You could either shut down the PS3 yourself using your remote from the XMB, or you could program in the power off sequence yourself.  It is not part of the device setup in Harmony's library at this time.  Here is a link to the thread where I have posted a power off macro that I currently have working on my friends PS3, as well as a macro that I think will work better, but I have not had time to contact Logitech about to try it out.

http://ps3ir.com/simplemachinesforum/index.php?topic=90.msg694#msg694
For help setting up your Harmony remote feel free to send me a PM. 

Include your model of remote, inputs settings for your TV, AV Receiver, etc., and any other setup requests.  I will also need your Harmony Login name and password (I recommend changing your password temporarily to 12345).